OVID
This platform is an aggregator of information. We purchase bibliographic databases, full text journal content, and e-books from OVID
Contract & Invoice Documents - This file location can only be accessed by authorized users
We were provided 2020 invoice from the consortium and are committed to pay invoice. We sign no contract with the vendor for this product. The only documentation from the consortium is a spreadsheet outlining the cost.
S:\File1-okc\MedLib\Contracts\Invoice_Ovid_DB_Detail_2020
S:\File1-okc\MedLib\Contracts\Ovid_Databases_Small_2020
Core I Biomedical eJournals
|
Core II Biomedical eJournals
|
Core III Biomedical eJournals
|
|
Core IV Biomedical eJournals
|
Lippincott Wolters & Wilkins Total Access Collection
|
OVID Nursing eJournals
|
Stand Alone Journals Subscribed to Through OVID
| Journal of the American Medical Association (Subscription information unknown / $30 per article) |
| Nurse Researcher (Subscription information unknown / $31.46 per article) |
| Annals of Emergency Medicine ($919 per year / $35.95 per article) |
| JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, & Regulation (Subscription information unknown / Price per article unknown) |
| AORN Journal ($602 per year / Price per article unknown) |
| Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine (Subscription information unknown / Price per article unknown) |
| Journal of Clinical Nursing ($3,539 per year / $42 per article) |
| Journal of Clinical Pathology (Subscription information unknown / $37 per article) |
| Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (1,363 per year / $45 per article) |
| Journal of Vascular & Interventional Radiology (Subscription information unknown / $35.95 per article) |
| Innovations: Technology & Techniques in Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery (Subscription information unknown / Price per article unknown) |
Comments
We have a good working relationship with OVID over the years. There has been stability with our rep, Tom Nufer, for a great number of years. Wolters Kleuwer owns UpToDate but they operate seperatly from OVID. Though I (LZ) do not use the search interface as much as Dan and Sonya for searching, most of the items in my literature searches default to OVID's full text Journal collection. I (LZ) am not a fan of the eBooks in OVID as many of them are dated.
Vender Contact
Wolters Kluwer
Tom Nufer
tom.nufer@wolterskluwer.com
Pricing
We purchase OVID through the consortium. Purchases are made at 2 different points of the year, near the middle and end of the year.
Total invoice: $271,217.85
Renewal dates
OVID Databases - June 2020
OVID Journals - December 2019
Special steps for renewal / cancelation
This resource is purchased through the consortium. The lower pricing that we receive for these products was grandfathered in due to the long term relationship we have had with OVID. If we cancel any components and later wish to have one of those components back, we will be quoted the higher current price rather than our grandfathered price.
Primary Audience
The use of OVID is spread across clinical staff. It is our most robust source of EBP information. Wolters Kluwer also owns LIppencott Williams & Wilkins, a large publisher of medical information, so OVID allows us access to a great amount of their content.
Usage Stats
| Ovid Plaform fee + Ovid eBooks database | $31,919 | 751 Book uses | $42.50 per use |
| Ovid Plaform fee + All Ovid Journal access | $111,208 | 8,366 article uses | $13.29 per use |
| All of Ovid | $262,522 | 16,497 searches | $15.91 per search |
| All of Ovid | $262,522 | 6,609 Sessions | $39.72 per session |
Need to examine at database level for cuts
How OVID is utilized by the INTEGRIS Medical Library
I (SP) use OVID Medline as my primary searching tool. Many of the full text journals are heavily used, such as Stroke. The evidence based databases, such as Cochrane’s, are consulted when we are asked by patrons to include that as part of their search. JBI is also used for nursing information. In my experience HAPI, AMED, Nursing@Ovid, and Emcare are less heavily used. Ebsco’s CINAHL is a more heavily used nursing database.
Suggestions
| Package Title |
Price paid last renewal |
Price for next renewal |
| Lippincott Wolters & Wilkins Total Access Collection (Full Text eJournals) |
$106,719.50 |
$114,190.00 |
| Network Licensing Fee | $24,901.54 |
NA |
| Core III Biomedical eJournals (Full-text journals | $19,408.50 |
$20,961.50 |
| Core I Biomedical eJournals (Full Text eJournals) | $19,636.34 |
$21,588.22 |
| Core II eJournals (Fulll-Text eJournals) | $15.594.00 |
$16,842.00 |
| Evidence Based Medicine review Database | $15,242.76 |
NA |
| OVID Nursing | $14,673.85 |
$15,906.00 |
| Joanna Briggs Institute Complete Database (JBI Complete) | $13,909.50 |
$15,022.50 |
| Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) | $13,817.36 |
$16,522.56 |
| Core IV Biomedical eJournals | $10,381.50 |
$11,212.50 |
| eBook Collection | $6,676.00 |
NA |
| Medline Database | $2,865.00 |
NA |
| Allied and Complementary Medicine (AMED) | $3,009.00 |
NA |
| Emcare (Specialty Nursing Full Text eJournals) | $2,835.00 |
$2,977.00 |
| Health and Psychological Instruments (HAPI) | $2,150.88 |
NA |
| Nursing @ OVID (Nursing Journal Search) | $1,998.00 |
$1,998.00 |
| Total | $271,217.85 |
|