Library tools and resources encompass many venders - please see below for a summary of resources not attributed to Wolters Kluwer or EBSCO
Scroll down the page to view all the different venders
ClincalKey
ClinicalKey is a database that contains full-text journals, eBooks, drug information, patient education, clinical overviews, and multimedia content. It supports the exportation of slides from the database into personal presentations.
ClinicalKey Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on ClinicalKey
Comments
Elsevier often does not share their content with other platforms, so ClinicalKey is basically the only platform from which we can access those titles. In the library world, Elsevier charges higher prices for their content (because they can) and are no very willing to negotiate. The content is usually in high enough demand by clinicians that attempting to outsource it via ILL or per article purchasing ends up costing the same as uses of ClinicalKey.
Since we lost access to the most recent JACC Journals through ClinicalKey (as per Elsevier probably moving them to a higher tier I think) I have been wearing out my welcome with the FreeShare ILL community in requesting articles. If I start getting denied, we will have to start paying per ILL. (LZ)
Pricing
Fiscal year 2020 - $116,066.86
Renewal Date
July 1, 2020
Vender Contact
Elsevier
Abigail Steffens
a.steffens@elsevier.com
Special Steps for Renewal / Cancelation
The master agreement was signed 5/10/17 and had amendments we need to look into
LibGuides / INTEGRIS Medical Libraries website
LibGuides is a platform that allows us to publish content, share knowledge, and customize web pages to meet our customer's needs
LibGuides Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on LibGuides
Comments by library staff
We purchased this product approximately ten years ago, prior to which we had limited ability to create online pages for the library on SharePoint (which is clunky and not suited to our needs). With LibGuides, we are able to track usage and make changes on the fly.
Pricing
Fiscal Year 2019: $1,312.00
Fiscal Year 2020: $1,352.00
Renewal Date
May 30, 2020
Vender Contact
Springshare LLC
1-800-451-3160
Special steps / considerations for renewal or cancelation
NA
Wiley Subscriptions
The INTEGRIS Medical Library has a package of print journal subscriptions that come from a contract with Wiley
Journal Subscriptions Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on individual print journal subscriptions
AccessEmergencyMedicine
An emergency medicine (EM) focused resources containing eBooks, case files, procedure videos, self-assesment tools, patient education, and drug information.
AccessEmergencyMedicine Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on Access Emergency Medicine
Comments
This database is most used by the emergency medicine residency program, but there aer features / tools included with the resource that many of the residents may not be aware of. Marketing these tools more robustly should boost use.
Pricing
Fiscal year 2020: $27,741
Renewal date
July 1, 2020
Vender Contact
McGraw-Hill
Tiffany Reis
Special steps for renewal or cancelation
This database is purchased through the consortium
R2 eBooks
This is a digital book platform that allows purchase of and access to individual book titles. Once a title is purchased, it remains available in the library's eBook collection indefinitely.
R2 Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on R2
Comments
R2 is not a heavily used resource outside of the AORN and ASPAN Standards, but the cost is reasonable compared to similar products on the market. Having the standards available to all in electronic format as opposed to print is more convenient for the users.
Recently, we have added a "Patron Driven Acquisition" feature to R2 - this allows us to have temporary access to all the new items that R2 releases. I (LZ) have found this personably useful for really up to date literature in books and for access to a book that would have cost $12 to interlibrary loan.
Pricing
Renewal Date
May 30, 2020
Vender Contact
Rittenhouse
Donna Carlberg
Wendy Bahnsen
wendy.bahnsen@rittenhouse.com
Special Steps for Renewal / Cancelation
NA
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the most widely read and influential medical journal in the world. Widely cited in journals of all medical specialties, the peer reviewed original articles are aimed at physicians and those interested in medical practice.
NEJM Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on the subscription to the New England Journal of Medicine
Comments
Most likely the most used journal in our collection.
It is one of the foundational journals for a medical library
Pricing
Sept. 2019 through Sept.2020 - $12,534
Renewal Date
9/16/20 - Tier H2D - Acct 000101532966
Vender Contact
Mike Tavars / Judy Benford
institutionsales@nejm.org
Jbenford@negm.org
Special Steps for Renewal / Cancelation
NA
CyberTools
CyberTools is a library management system that includes an online public access catalog (OPAC) for patron searching, a cataloging function to control and update library inventory, a circulation system for tracking material used by library patrons, and a serials component for managing a journal / magazine collection.
Cybertools Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on CyberTools
Comments
The CyberTools team provides great customer service and have many offerings for continuing education in use of the product.
With movement away from print, Cybertools is less vital than it was 15 years ago.
Right now, the OPAC is a mess. More than half the links are either labeled incorrectly or do not work. Holdings for physical journal collection are not correct / out of date. Many items listed are no longer part of our subscriptions (MD Consult, AccessMedicine...) Dead links are frustrating for patrons.
What CyberTools does have going for it is that if the records are kept up to date, the keyword searching (publication title level only) can be very robust and return physical, electronic, etc. items all at once on one screen.
Pricing
Fiscal year 2020 - $4,560
Renewal date
July 2020
Vender Contact
CyberTools
Lori Roux
lori.roux@cybertoolsforlibraries.com
Special Steps to Renew / Cancel
If we chose not to renew, we could need to obtain our holdings data from The CyberTools company
QuickDoc
QucikDoc is an Interlibrary Loan management tool we subscribe to.
It is not to be confused with DOCLINE which is an automated interlibrary loan (ILL) request routing and referral system we use provided free by the National Library of Medicine.
QuickDock Library Resource Page
Click here for more budget information on QuickDoc
Comments
Lisa Zarrell at Baptist uses DOCLINE itself to manually track ILL information (I have not found QuickDoc to be very useful myself - LZ)
In regards to EFTS funds, most of the items in ILL we attempt to get for free (reciprocal borrowing and lending). Some items we cannot get free and they can cost from $2 - $12. To acquire all ILL items from the publisher instead of thorough EFTS would run between $7 - $50+. Price per article, when counted against all loans as is much cheaper at about $1 - $2 per loan.
Pricing for Quickdoc has been stable since 2016
Vender Contact
New England Survey Systems
Support@nesurv.com
617-738-1800
Pricing
Fiscal year 2020 - $449.00 per library per year
Electronic Funds Transfer:
Southwest spent $240 for ILL items,
Baptist spent $946
Total for Baptist & Southwest: $2,894
Please Note: We also do sometimes charge for lending our items, which balances back out and makes even more of the items we request "free" - those were not included in the total.
Renewal date
June 1, 2020
No special terms for renewal or cancelation