Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 and INTEGRIS
COVID-19 on The Source
A page with information for all INTEGRIS caregivers has been created on The Source, INTEGRIS's internal network site.
Emergency Intubation in COVID-19
This video from the New England Journal of Medicine details endotracheal intubation in patients with COVID-19, which poses a risk of infection for the health care personnel involved in the procedure. Meticulous planning, preparation, and the use of practice drills can minimize the risk of contagion and enhance safety.
Books with COVID-19 Information
SARS-CoV-2 Variants Overview - National Library of Medicine
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) has released a new resource, called the SARS-CoV-2 Variants Overview, that aggregates data related to SARS-CoV-2 variants from sequences available in NCBI’s GenBank and Sequence Read Archive (SRA) databases.
COVID-19 Portal from EBSCO
This Information Portal has been created to support the immediate need for trusted information. It is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority and seeks to cover the emerging needs of a professional community.
NEJM Coronavirus Resources
The New England Journal of Medicine presents a collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
ASHP COVID-19 Resource Center
Infection prevention, assessment of evidence for COVID-19-related treatments, a catalog of COVID-19 resources and programming, etc.
COVID-19: Managing the Surge
In this free collection, NEJM Catalyst compiles articles, case studies, and conversations with timely, relevant content for both inpatient and outpatient approaches and solutions that directly address how organizations across the world have responded to the surge
National Institutes of Health: COVID-19 Research
Get the latest research information from National Institute of Health (NIH)
Communicating About COVID-19 Vaccination
COVID-19 vaccines currently available for use are either approved for specific indications/ages or have an Emergency Use Authorization (EUA; in the U.S.) or an Interim Order (Canada). This FAQ answers common questions you or your patients may have about COVID-19 vaccination and includes talking points to misconceptions.
COVID-19 Vaccine Resource Center from NEJM
A collection of resources on COVID-19 vaccines, including frequently asked questions, continuing medical education, published research, and commentary.
COVID-19 Vaccine Information from ASHP
Includes information about vaccine storage and handling, distribution, a vaccine assessment tool and resources for state and local planning.
COVID-19 Vaccines Pharmaceutical Information
The chart provides dosing, storage, adverse effects, and efficacy information for COVID-19 vaccines available or submitted for approval in the U.S. and/or Canada.
Resumption of Surgery after COVID-19
The two tabs available in this box include guidance on resuming surgery with COVID-19 in mind. The categories are guidance related to the patient and then guidance related to the institution. The guidance can be found via the links and is posted on websites and also published in articles.
ASA and APSF Joint Statement on Elective Surgery and Anesthesia for Patients after COVID-19 Infection.
American Society of Anesthesiologists & The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation. (2020, December 8). American Society of Anesthesiologists.
Risks of early mortality and pulmonary complications following surgery in patients with COVID-19.
Khonsari RH, Bernaux M, et. al. AP/Universities/INSERM COVID-19 research collaboration, AP-HP COVID Clinical Data Warehouse initiative. Br J Surg. 2021 Apr 30;108(4):e158-e159. doi: 10.1093/bjs/znab007. PMID: 33793755; PMCID: PMC7929121.
Increased complications in patients who test COVID-19 positive after elective surgery and implications for pre and postoperative screening.
Prasad NK, Lake R, Englum BR, et. al. Am J Surg. 2021 Apr 14:S0002-9610(21)00234-8. doi: 10.1016/j.amjsurg.2021.04.005. Epub ahead of print. PMID: 33894979; PMCID: PMC8045424.
The management of surgical patients in the emergency setting during COVID-19 pandemic: the WSES position paper.
De Simone B, Chouillard E., et al. World J Emerg Surg. 2021 Mar 22;16(1):14. doi: 10.1186/s13017-021-00349-0. PMID: 33752721; PMCID: PMC7983964.
Peri-operative COVID-19 infection in urgent elective surgery during a pandemic surge period: a retrospective observational cohort study.
Kane AD, Paterson J, Pokhrel S., et al. Anaesthesia. 2020 Dec;75(12):1596-1604. doi: 10.1111/anae.15281. Epub 2020 Oct 22. PMID: 33090469.
The theoretical mortality risk of an asymptomatic patient with a negative SARS-CoV-2 test developing COVID-19 following elective orthopaedic surgery.
Kader N, Clement ND, et al. Bone Joint J. 2020 Sep;102-B(9):1256-1260. doi: 10.1302/0301-620X.102B9.BJJ-2020-1147.R1. Epub 2020 Jul 6. PMID: 32627569
Mortality and pulmonary complications in patients undergoing surgery with perioperative SARS-CoV-2 infection: an international cohort study.
COVIDSurg Collaborative. Lancet. 2020 Jul 4;396(10243):27-38. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(20)31182-X. Epub 2020 May 29. Erratum in: Lancet. 2020 Jun 9;: PMID: 32479829; PMCID: PMC7259900.