Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
The second step in the "Evidence Based Process" is to obtain the best research literature. To make sure you get the best research literature, ask a librarian affiliated with the Integris Medical Library to do a literature search for you! E-mail firstname.lastname@example.org, request a search on your topic (noting that you are working on an evidence based approach), and a Medical Librarian will contact you!
|4 Steps of the Evidence-Based Process
The question must be explicitly defined before searching for the answer. For evaluating the effectiveness of an intervention, four questions should be considered: 1. What is the relevant patient population? 2. What intervention is being considered? 3. What is the comparison intervention or patient population? 4. What outcomes are of interest?
Most medical information is now rapidly accessible from computers and hand-held devices. However, skill is required to quickly find the desired information, while limiting irrelevant "noise." Different approaches are required depending on the reason for seeking the information - contact the INTEGRIS Medical Library for help searching the literature: email@example.com
At the most basic, one should know how literature is ranked in terms of content:
Systematic reviews and meta-analyses – This type of literature is considered the top of the pyriamid of evidence as these items compare and sum up studies and literature from several sources.
Randomized controlled trials – Second in line as truely randomized, large trials can provide excellent data.
Observational studies – Considered level 3 as the evidence can be tainted by bias.
Evidence Based Practice/Medicine is not intended to replace clinical judgment. Individual patients should be cared for in light of the best available research evidence, but with care tailored to their individual circumstances, including genetic makeup, past and concurrent illnesses, health-related behaviors, and personal preferences. Several studies clearly demonstrate that many clinical decisions are not made based on the best research evidence or on relevant individual patient characteristics, but seem most consistent with the practice habits or practice style of the clinicians.
UpToDate - Evidence-Based Medicine
The list above is an abbreviated summery of an article in the UpToDate database. Click this link to read more about the Evidence-Based process
EBP Databases and Publications
ACP Journal Club
This database consists of articles from the top clinical journals upon which database editors have written enhanced abstracts and commentary.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence. Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and more.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE is a full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. Its records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
Health Technology Assessment Database
This database contains records of ongoing projects being conducted by members of INAHTA (International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment) as well as publications reporting completed technology assessments carried out by INAHTA members.
(NHS) Economic Evaluation Database
The National Health Science Economic Evaluation Database contains quality assessed economic evaluations and aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying, describing, appraising, and highlighting the relative strengths and weaknesses of economic evaluations.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)
CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH)
Here you will find full-text systematic reviews of methodological studies. Each review covers a specific and well-defined area of methodology. Protocols, also available, provide place-markers for reviews which are currently being written. They summarize the background and the rationale of the review.
Cochrane Methodology Register
A database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions. The database includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research.